STMA Kicks Off Fourth Annual ‘Mowing Patterns Contest’

by • 4 years ago

Sports Turf Managers Association kicked off the fourth annual “Mowing Patterns Contest”.

Sports Turf Managers Association the professional organization for 2,600 men and women who manage sports fields worldwide who are critical to the safety of athletes and coaches – kicked off the fourth annual “Mowing Patterns Contest”

Open from October 21 through November 18; Winner Announced December 2

Members wishing to enter can upload a photo of a unique design; only patterns made with mowing equipment are eligible. Deadline to enter via Facebook is Friday, November 18 at 12 a.m. midnight EST. The pattern which receives the most votes will win the contest. Voting is open to all Facebook users. Winners will be announced Friday, December 2 and included in a future issue of SportsTurf, STMA’s official monthly publication.

Sports turf managers prepare all year for this; we are thrilled with last year’s positive response and look forward to what this year has in store. Some of the best field art in the world is produced by our members, and this contest provides a prime opportunity for them to showcase their creative styles on a national level. – Kim Heck, CEO of STMA

Check out: STMA Announces Third Annual ‘Mowing Patterns Contest’ Winner

Last year’s winner was Blake Anderson, current Assistant Director of Sports Turf Operations at the University of Arkansas. Anderson won with his intricate “four patterns” design he produced at Baum Stadium, home to the Razorbacks baseball team.

The 2013 inaugural winner was Joey Stevenson, Head Groundskeeper for the Indianapolis Indians. He is no stranger to receiving awards for Victory Field. In 2014, the Purdue graduate received the “Sports Turf Manager of the Year Award” for the third year in a row from STMA and Minor League Baseball in the Triple-A division.

The Mowing Patterns winning design will have a custom poster featured at the 2016 STMA Conference & Exhibition (January 24-27) in Orlando, Fla.

Only STMA members are eligible to enter and previous winners will not be considered.


« Back to Turf Republic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.